This Examiner works locally as the Gluten-Free Consultant for YEAH! Burger. It is my job to make sure their ingredient and food preparation are gluten free. Many, many questions are being asked about the gluten-free status of their burgers, sauces, condiments, toppings, sides and ice cream, so what follows below should clear up any confusion and make it easier for you to order from the menu.
YEAH! Burger has two large grills: one for toasting buns and the other for cooking meat. Using this method, they are able to prevent cross contamination. Their onion, bacon, and mushroom toppings are normally prepared on the grill used for meat, but they are having difficulty finding enough grill space to cook these toppings 100% of the time. They are working to modify their procedure to guarantee the above listed topping are gluten free 100% of the time.
- The Veggie Burger is not gluten free, but the remaining burgers are gluten free. Be sure to specify you need a gluten-free bun when ordering. There is a $1.25 up charge. You can choose to have your meat prepared in a lettuce wrap if you would rather not have a gluten-free bun.
- Cheeses – all are gluten free
- Free Toppings – all are gluten-free. Check with the staff about ordering the grilled onions to ensure they were cooked on the meat grill.
- Premium Toppings – All are gluten free with the exception of the coleslaw and fried egg. The egg is cooked on the grill for buns and the coleslaw contains soy sauce with wheat. Check with the staff about ordering the bacon and mushrooms to ensure they were cooked on the meat grill.
- All are gluten free with the exception of their Mississippi Mop BBQ.
- It is important to note that all of their mayonnaise based sauces contain dairy in the form of cream.
- Their hot dogs are gluten free and you can order a hot dog on a gluten-free burger bun. They cut the bun in half and then length wise, so you have a double-decker hot dog on a bun.
- The gluten-free fries and onion rings are prepared in a dedicated fryer that is kept covered when not in use. The batter for the onion rings is prepared in the back and does contain buttermilk.
- Because some of their toppings contain gluten they recommend that you partake of a Float or a Sundae or a Cup of organic soft-serve ice cream and steer clear of the Milk Shakes and Concretes. Even though the mixer used to make the concretes and shakes is cleaned after each use they are concerned about cross contamination and would rather have anyone on the gluten-free diet refrain from ordering them.
Amy Crites is the General Manager at YEAH! Burger and had this to say about their gluten-free menu. “We have a great celiac following and we are definitely working to make sure each of our guests have a great dining experience no matter what allergens they are avoiding.” When the next version of the menu is printed, they plan to put an asterisk (*) next to all of their gluten-free items.
This Examiner enjoyed lunch on their patio Saturday. They had a continuous line out the door for more than an hour, so they must be doing something right. From their organic meat to their gluten-free buns, fries and onion rings, this Examiner is thrilled to have a local restaurant dedicated to providing a safe, tasty gluten-free meal!